What's new

SVS Speakers replaced by Klipsch Speakers (1 Viewer)

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Curious experience:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07K1H7V36/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I ordered the above package, received it and then posted this review. Amazon is telling my they cannot allow it on their site but isn't being specific about why. Since this is about as innocuous as any review I've ever posted on Amazon or elsewhere, I'm completely perplexed. Any thoughts? I'm thinking it's because I mentioned a lower price?

Powerful Speakers That Should Satisfy Most Residential Rooms

The Experience:
I'm new to the Klipsch family but, coming from SVS, I had high expectations. I received the [advertised] RP 280F towers but was secretly hoping for the upgraded RP 800F's many others seemed to have received. I noted the supplier having changed from Acoustic Sound Design [mentioned in some previous reviews] to Sound Distributors, Inc which may explain this. But hold on. Now I see the same package offered here on Amazon again by Acoustic Sound Design and for about $80.00 less than what I paid a few weeks ago and without the surprise upgrade? This does not sit well, which is why I've subtracted a star. Nonetheless, I got what I was promised and at the price I agreed to pay, so i can't be too upset.

The Speakers:
These speakers are excellent although not exactly mind blowing compared to the SVS Prime towers they are replacing. The highs are definitely more pronounced and clear. The increased sensitivity [87 dB (2.83V @ 1 meter 1V compared to 92 dB (2.83V @ 1 meter 1V, [SVS and Klipsch respectably] is seriously evident. That's not a typo in the sensitivity specs for the RP280F's. My understanding is they tend to inflate their sensitivity specs, even though their speakers are already among the best in class for sensitivity. If Amazon allows it, then here's an explanatory excerpt from Audioholics.