What's new

SVS or Build (1 Viewer)

Don.l

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Don
I am building my HT, and will be upgrading the subwoofer. Initially I was thinking about the SVS 25-31 pci. I know that this is a good sub, but it is currently about $549. I'll pay $549 for good quality but, can I build a sub of the same quality for less than $549? That is my question. I have never built a sub before. I really don't want to get into making the enclosue. I just want to get the parts together and assemble. Anybody have any opinions?

Thanks
Don

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Parker
Don:

There are a lot of guys in the DIY area of the forum that have built their own subs. I would post a message there about what you are wanting to do.

Personally, I would get the SVS instead of having to build the enclosure, get all the parts and then put it together. SVS builds only high quality subs and for $549 you may be able to build it cheaper by doing it yourself but I would imagine that you would come close to that price too.

Unless you are just wanting to build the sub yourself because you would like the experience I would order the SVS and see what you think. You can always return it if it doesn't do what you want it to.

Anything is that you can call Ron or Tom and talk to them. They will not try to sell you on one of their subs. They will give you all the info you need as to where you can pick up the parts, etc. for DIY and information about their own product line.

Good luck with your choice.

Parker

Rory Buszka

Supporting Actor