SVS CS-Ultra/S-1000 question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Matt Gordon, Apr 12, 2002.

  1. Matt Gordon

    Matt Gordon Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I'm doing a little research on setting up the single CS-Ultra/S-1000 package due to be delivered Monday (yeah, it's gonna be a long weekend!).

    The manual for the Samson S1000 (you can download it from the SVS website) says not to bridge the amp into a 4 ohm or less load. The manual for the CS+ series (manuals for the CS-Ultra do not appear to be available) say that the amp must be able to handle a 4 ohm load. So should I bridge both channels of the amp to run one sub or not? If I can get away with it, shouldn't I back the amp off a little bit?

    Thanks for your help... I think I'll go check UPS Package Tracking again... sigh.
     
  2. Rey_Ramos

    Rey_Ramos Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A long weekend indeed. Hang in there. I just got my Ultra/S1000 a few days ago and calibrated lastnight. I say leave the amp in Stereo mode and use one channel with the gain all the way up and use your receiver to calibrate the sub volume. I can't imagine needing more power than the one channel for one ultra. I posted in a different thread that you have to experience it for yourself. I'm no expert and I could be wrong but I believe this is the right way to do it. You are in for a very bassy ride. [​IMG]
     
  3. Andy Anderson

    Andy Anderson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this same question when I was awaiting delivery. I have the CS_U and S1000 too. TomV told me not to bridge it. He said the voice coil could handle it, but when you bridge it, it becomes 8 ohms. The sub is a 4 ohm speaker.
    Don't worry about it. 500 watts on one channel is plenty, believe me. I do, however, look at that other channel sometimes, wishing it had another CS_U to push. [​IMG]
    You're in for a long weekend--enjoy the Ultra when it arrives!
    Andy
     
  4. mctague

    mctague Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a CS-Ultra, and am getting around to upgrading its power and am considering the S-1000. I downloaded the manual last night and noticed it doesn't look like it has RCA inputs. Is this true??????????
     
  5. Matt Barrett

    Matt Barrett Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mctague,
    The S1000 does not have RCA inputs, it has ¼ in jacks, but SVS includes a nice ¼ inch to RCA cable so you need not worry. [​IMG]
     
  6. Tom Vodhanel

    Tom Vodhanel Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 1998
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    The Samson amps aren't designed to handle less than 8phms when bridged. All SV woofs represent a 4ohm load to the amp. So...don't bridge a Samson into a SV.

    The Samsons do not have RCA inputs, but we do provide 2 adaptors and a 1m RCA to 1/4" cable with each Samson purchased with a subwoofer at SVS.

    Let me know if you have any other questions,

    TV
     
  7. Matt Meyer

    Matt Meyer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt: If you talk real sweet to Ron from SVS he might just e-mail you a copy of the manual. He did for me(shhh!don't tell anyone else).

    Matt
     
  8. jeff lam

    jeff lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Real Name:
    Jeff Lam
    The samson amps aren't designed to be bridged into a 4 ohm load. That's what swayed me away from them, I bought a crown instead. One channel is plenty of power anyway. For those of you that have that extra channel of power just sitting there waiting to be used, have you considered Tacticle Transducers to run off the other channel?

    Maybe a buttkicker or an array of lower power shakers. Really gives you that extra impact "kick you in the butt" feel. Especialy at lower levels when the sub doesn't cut it.
     
  9. Matt Gordon

    Matt Gordon Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Well Matt, the manual will be here soon enough... my subwoofer and amp are currently somewhere in Indiana, so they're on the way... just one more state line to cross! But thanks for the tip!
    ...and thanks everyone else for your advice, too. Now I know what not to do! Someday, maybe another Ultra will go on that channel...
    ...Or I guess I could just sell the Samson and use a Krell monoblock instead! [​IMG]
     
  10. mctague

    mctague Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks TV and Matt....I'm on a 2 or 3 year plan to get into a Dual CS-Ultra Package, so I'm going piece-meal. [​IMG] Though the last part (the 2nd ultra) will entail moving or building a dedicated room.
     

Share This Page