What's new

SVS coming, well, today! Need help with SPL, etc (1 Viewer)

Thomas_Berg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Thomas
It's 2:10am now and it's an 18-year old's prime time! with my 25-31PC on the way to my door in about 12 hrs, i'm scrambling to get all the cables ready and buy an SPL meter.
now i'm new to this and i need help with calibration. can someone post the basics please so i can have the system ready for showtime tonight?
i'll post some pics along the way, but here's the setup:
Onkyo 595 (#3 works!)
SVS 25-31PC (only one
frown.gif
)
5 Cambridge SoundWorks Ensemble IV mini-cubes (good and small for dorm life)
Pioneer dvd player in computer
19" Samsung flatscreen monitor
WinTV television/capture card with remote-- love it!
wink.gif

Sony CDP-XE400 (my new Marantz CC-4000 is on the way and will arrive early next week)
i'm off tomorrow AM to buy an analog SPL and wait...
thanks in advance for help with calibration!
-thomas
btw- thank you to ALL who have put up with my many long threads and have kept giving me great advice throughout my querstions and spending, and spending, and spending...

Jeremy Anderson

Screenwriter
Link Removed
That link ought to answer all your questions about calibrating with an SPL meter. You need to pick up a calibration disc such as The Avia Guide To Home Theater or Video Essentials, but in a pinch you can use any disc with THX Optimode to get a rough calibration (although those are often disc specific, so you'll still need AVIA or VE eventually).

BryanZ

Screenwriter
You could but they are not as consistent or as good as the ones from either Avia or VE.

Jeremy Anderson

Screenwriter