1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

SVS 16-46PC Problems

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by William Lee, Nov 14, 2001.

1. William Lee

William Lee Agent

Hello! Let me please start out by saying that I am a complete subwoofer/home theater newb, and that I just received a 16-46 PC in the mail that I bought after hearing massive amounts of rave reviews.
    My HT is
    Denon 3802
    Boston VR950/920 front and center
    Optimus rears.
    and now a new SVS 16-46PC.
    I just calibrated my system with an SPL meter to get each speaker at around 85 dbs on my Avia test disc, but I have ran into some troubles.
    Apparently, my subwoofer doesnt receive an avia sub signal as through any of the specified subwoofer tests, it doesnt make a sound.
    My reference level is at -14 on the dial, and following the instructions on the SVS manual i upped my subwoofer individual channel out to about +3db, as opposed to my speakers ranging from -4 to -1.
    However, when I play either the U571 depth charge scene, my sub "clacks" and it sounds like its bottoming out. On fight club ch 9, where the plane rips apart, it clacks quite often.
    Is this supposed to be happening? My old previous radioshack optimus subwoofer never seemed to "clack" in the way the 16-46 does, however, when the SVS does perform the sound is phenomenal.
    Please help!
    Thank you for your time,
    William

2. SteveBjr

SteveBjr Stunt Coordinator

I'm not familiar with the Avia disc but i do know if your sub is bottoming you should immediately back it off. I've heard it is better to use the VE disc for calibrating sounds, which is what i used to calibrate mine. I have my 20-39 calibrated to 81db and all other speakers at 75db with VE.