What's new

SVM question (1 Viewer)

Mike Goad

Auditioning
I have been slowly calibrating my RPTV myself & have been reading alot about disabling SVM. Could somebody tell me what exactly SVM is on a RPTV and why I should want to disable it?
Thanks in advance

Joe Tilley

Supporting Actor
MIke,SVM stands for scan velocity modulation,I cant remember what it dose but it will make an improvement in picture quilty when turned off.

You may wont to have this post moved to the TV area to get a quicker responce.

BruceSpielbauer

Second Unit
Mike:

Joe was correct. SVM stands for scan velocity modulation. I am no expert, but let me see if I can describe it, based on what I have read (and even seen). Technically, it reportedly changes the acceleration of the electron beam such that it makes thin, dark vertical lines thicker to compensate for the softness of these lines when near the limit of resolution of the set. Unfortunately it also introduces artifacts, as we shall see.

Think about one object (perhaps a dark, dark color of someone's shirt) which overlaps another (perhaps a light blue sky). In reality, there is not any "line" of separation. None. And, if you take a good photo, there is still no actual "line." Now, imagine a novice artist drawing that image. The first thing he or she often does it to "outline" that shape, by drawing the outer edges. Perhaps with a thin, black marker. Some of this shape would be vertical lines, correct? SVM affects this area.