Svideo or RCA (analog) Which is better?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason-Pro, Jun 20, 2002.

  1. Jason-Pro

    Jason-Pro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which one should i use ? I watch dvds and stuff alot. I was wondering which one was better quality and what is the difference between the 2 ?
     
  2. Steve_Tk

    Steve_Tk Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    1
    RCA, Svideo, Component

    good----------Best
     
  3. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    The RCA video is also known as composite video. It sends the entire video signal as one entity, whereas s-video splits the video signal into separate components which results in a much sharper image with more resolution and a reduction in NTSC artifacts like dot crawl for example.
     
  4. Jason-Pro

    Jason-Pro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok cool guess ill change that over. and Svideo is the same as RCA in Having a High quality Svideo cable for a better picture ? or will generic cables do (i like highest quality possible)
     
  5. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my opinion, the monster cables are over priced. you can get a good s-video cable at Radio Shack (gold series) for fairly cheap and you won't notice a difference from higher priced cables. The s-video only carries the video signal, so you still need to hook up the audio cables.
     
  6. Jason-Pro

    Jason-Pro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i run the Dayton cables from partsexpress same as the ARs but half the price [​IMG] thats what all my cables in my bedroom are even my F-pin cable for my Radio antenna hehe.
     
  7. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    You will start to see the quality difference in s-video cables in longer runs (I am using 20') and with larger displays especially although you will have to look for the differences ie. bleeding.
     
  8. Jason-Pro

    Jason-Pro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i may even go to fleet farm and pick up a high quality Svideo its the same ppl that make AR and Dayton (they look EXACLY the same lol was kinda funny actually when i bought my Subwoofer splitter from there and it was exacly same as my Dayton RCA sub cable from parts express.
     
  9. errol

    errol Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 1999
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jason,

    Your sig has Harman/kardon DVD 5... if it has component outs, use them over svid or composite.

    r,
    Errol
     
  10. Jason-Pro

    Jason-Pro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah all my stuff has it what is that ? (im new to HT and well still learning)

    my TV has it my Receiver has it also.
     
  11. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Component cables is the best way to hook everything up (better than s-video). Again, it only carries the video signal so you still need to hook up audio too (a digital optical or coxial if you have jacks for them)
     
  12. Jason-Pro

    Jason-Pro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of cable do i need for the component ? or could i juse use a RCA A/V Cable or would i have to buy some component cables ? if i remember i think its a green blue and red plug (not sure lol)
     
  13. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to buy some component cables. I use Radio Shack gold series. Does all your stuff have a digital connections for sound? You would need to use those for Dolby Digital Sound.
     
  14. Jason-Pro

    Jason-Pro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah my receiver has digital im only using analog atm for sound on the dvd player tho cause i only have my 2 front speakers done so far heh. center channel is being glued as we speak but the rears i gott cut some tops and bottoms for. Cant wait to get this done ! gonna be so glad its done. (then im gonna have to figure out what to do for a finish)
     
  15. Keith Ro

    Keith Ro Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  16. Robert P. Jones

    Robert P. Jones Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 1999
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    S does not exactly separate the Y and the C - the luminance and chrominance.

    It KEEPS them separated.

    In composite, they start out separated, then are mixed - like an FM multiplex radio signal - into a "composite" format, which is a complex multiplex signal that contains both Y and C.

    It is then "demodulated" - demultiplexed - at the other end, requiring sometimes half a dozen stages of circuitry at each end.

    All to get back to having the Y and C again be separate, so the TV can use them.

    S avoids all the slop - yes, primarily dot crawl - inserted in those unnecessary electronic stages. Which is what it takes, just to get to composite and back out again.

    I don't know why they didn't have S a long time ago. It is a much more simple way of doing things.

    Mr Bob
     

Share This Page