What's new

Surround Speaker Placement Help: Unique room with couch against one wall (1 Viewer)

ifresh21

Auditioning
Real Name
Josh
Hey guys,

[Setup]

I am new to surround sound and am trying to upgrade the surround sound in one of my rooms to a 7.1 channel system. I ordered (5) Polk RM7 speakers (one of them is a center) http://www.polkaudio.com/homeaudio/rm2008/index.php?s=rm7 and the Yamaha V667 Receiver http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v667/?mode=model . I will most likely order this speaker stand for maximum height on my surround speakers (rear) http://www.sanus.com/us/en/products/speaker-foundations/sp-hover/HF1 .

[Question]

The problem is that my room doesn't really allow me to place rear surrounds in the ideal positions (90 to 110 degrees and if I understand correctly, a few feet from the couch). My couch is almost right next to the wall and I plan on purchasing a new couch which might be slightly larger and have to be pushed completely over to the wall :0.

How should I place the speakers when the couch is so close to/on the wall? I have to use speaker stands - speakers mounted on the wall/ceiling isn't an option unfortunately. Since I am using stands, should the speakers be aimed down towards the viewers from behind or should they be level? If they are level, should they be facing forward, at the audience, or towards each other? That confuses me. They are Bipole speakers.

----

[Bonus Questions :) ]

I have two more relatively insignificant questions: I plan on putting my center speaker in the top/center cabinet inside the under TV console. I will most likely put the left and right speakers either on the wall or the side of the console. The speakers would all be at the same level, but much lower than ear level for the viewers. Would tilting all of these speakers upwards so that they point at ear level sound good? (Is that the best way to do it)