Surround Sound Recording

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Doug Smith, Apr 9, 2002.

  1. Doug Smith

    Doug Smith Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering if when I record something off regular cable onto my HiFi VCR that is broadcast in Dolby Surround - does it record onto the VCR in surround? Also, I have an old satellite dish (10ft.) with a videocypher II. I know I get stereo recordings from it when hooked up through the back - but I'm not sure how the surround works. Most shows on satellite are broadcast in Dolby Surround.
     
  2. Marc Rochkind

    Marc Rochkind Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, if you record the stereo track in stereo. The Surround encoding is matrixed in with the normal stereo.
     
  3. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The answer is yes, as long as you are recording a stereo feed in stereo- the signal can have prologic surround processing applied to extract a "surround" image.
    On a side note, while typing my initial reply to your topic, my computer caught on fire:
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...threadid=62584
    odd.
    -Vince
     

Share This Page