Surround sound question

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by BenLev, Mar 3, 2006.

1. BenLev

BenLev Agent

I am trying to hook up my new surround sound system with my sub. The problem is i don't know where to go from here. My tv has 2 left and 2 right speaker outputs. I hooked these 4 outputs to my recievers 4 inputs. My reciever also has a Center speaker, and subwoofer input. The problem is my tv doesn't have a center speaker or subwoofer output!!! What do i do?

Thanks.

2. JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin Producer

If you have an atsc tv, use an spdif cable. Set it up to transmit a dolby digital signal. If you have an spdif cable, connect L and R pair to a suitable input on your receiver, and set the receiver to decode Dolby Prologic II Movie.

3. BenLev

BenLev Agent

Here is a link to my TV so you can better help me. I am not quite sure what you wanted me to do there. Sorry, I am just a super noob at this.

TV

Let me know if that gives you the info you need to answer my question.

4. JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin Producer

My usual habit is to try to find a manual, translate it into something a fellow htfer can understand. Alas, I can't find it.

Anyway, it appears to be an hdtv, with a built in tuners for high definition cable and over the air.

At least there's a picture of the back panel.

[​IMG]

The MONITOR/REC OUT are supplied for connecting a VCR. (so you can record off the built in tuners). You should connect the AUDIO OUTPUT to your receiver, as well as the optical out. The optical output should be configured to output Dolly Digital/Bitstream/AC-3. I'm not sure how you might do this-- though it's probably buried in an on screen setup menu.

(Why connect both analog and digital? Some TV channels may not have digital sound. My TV digitizes the analog television sound into 32 KHz PCM, but practices vary.)