Surge Protectors for HT Components

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by cobratx, Aug 23, 2006.

1. cobratx

cobratx Auditioning

Hi, newbie here. In the old day’s I’d buy a $10-$30 surge protector to protect my computer from surges. Now I’m being told I need to buy a $100-$300 dollar surge protector to filter/protect my audio and video components in a home theatre I’m putting together.

My question is, do you really need one of these high dollar surge protector/filters? Or will an old school $20.00 protector do the job?

If I need the high dollar unit, what should I look for, and what are some recommendations for a good one for a good price?

Thanks All!

2. BrianTwig

BrianTwig Second Unit

Do you "need" one? No. Should you have one? Yes. Aside from protecting the electrical components (receiver, cd player, etc...) the quality protectors also have connections for your cable/sat wires, telephone wires, etc... You run all of the electronics through it.

What good is a $30 surge protector if your TV is plugged into it but your cable/sat wire is unprotected? Your still going to lose your TV to a surge. And likely the DVD player, Sat/cable box, and anything else hooked up to the TV.

I was in the same boat and figured I could get away with a cheap surge protector but then started to think, I just spent thousands of dollars on this equipment, do I want to cheap out now on a surge protector and risk losing everything? Or is it better to spend a few extra dollars for more complete protection and piece of mind? I spent the money.

And you can get quality products for not a lot of cash. I got the PureAV PF60 for like $156 if memory serves me right at ProVantage. It has a rediculous retail price of $750 and I actually saw it at Best Buy yesterday with that price on it!

PureAV has lesser models that will fit the bill and cost less. TrippLite also has top notch products at affordable prices. Belkin as well (PureAV is also from Belkin).

3. Lew Crippen