Surge protectors and high current amps

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Gerard Martin, Dec 29, 2001.

  1. Gerard Martin

    Gerard Martin Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been told surge protectors can
    reduce current to high current receivers thus reducing receiver performance. A well known surge protector company said they never heard
    of such a thing, what is true and
    what would you suggest to protect high
    current receivers. Thanks.
     
  2. Brian Perry

    Brian Perry Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Panamax has stated that all of their traces are capable of carrying more than 15 amps, so there shouldn't be any loss of power.
     
  3. Luis A

    Luis A Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gerard,
    I had two B&K REF220M amps plugged into a Panamax1000+ in my wifes office. One night, just for S&G, I plugged the amps straight into the wall, and WOW. The difference was huge. I also unplugged my kids Denon receiver from their Pmax1000, and the sound opened up quite a bit. The only product I've tried that doesn't "choke" the amp is a PS Audio High Current Ultimate Outlet. I've also heard good things about Richard Gray's Power Company 400S, and the Monster Cable AVS2000 Voltage Stabilizer. Hope this helps.[​IMG]
    L
    http://www.psaudio.com
    http://www.richardgrayspowercompany.com
    http://www.monstercable.com
     
  4. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Marc Rochkind

    Marc Rochkind Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quesiton about the PS Audio Ultimate Outlet: Can I plug in a power strip and then use it for all my equipment?
     
  6. HankM

    HankM Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marc,

    Yes you can. I would recommend that you get an UO than get a Juice Bar also made by PS Audio. The JB has six Power Port outlets, these are very high quality. I replaced my $2.00 wall duplex with a Power Port. The high current UO is $400 & the JB is $200. In my system I have a UO & a Power Plant 300. PS Audio makes amazing power products.
     
  7. Howard_S

    Howard_S Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I'm worried. I have most things connected to my Spike Master surge bar. Is it any good? Does it decrease sound quality?
     
  8. HankM

    HankM Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howard,

    Listen to your system plugged into the SM strip then try listening to it without it. I have had all kinds of power products in my system at one time or another. The safest way is to audition different brands. I first started with a Wood's from Home Depot. I then moved to a Radio Shack strip then to Panamax, Chang Lightspeed, Monster Cable and now I'm very happy with what I got in PS Audio.
     
  9. Howard_S

    Howard_S Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the stuff you're talking about is quite expensive. I can't be better off not protecting my equipment though right?
     
  10. HankM

    HankM Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are brands that offer cost effective power conditioning and great sound quality. The Monster Cable HTS 1000 & 2000 get rave reviews for sound quality & protection. Panamax is also highly regarded. Prices are $150 & $200 for the MOnster units.
     
  11. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Monster HTS 2000 & the new Power bar(HTS 2100, I think) has 2 high current outlets especially made for seperate amplifiers--the HTS 1000 does not.

    I haven't noticed any clamping down on my Sunfire Cinema Grand or the Adcom 5400 that I use for my sub by the HTS 2000.

    DJ
     
  12. Shawn Sefranek

    Shawn Sefranek Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1998
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same question about Amps in my system.

    I have an SVS Plus system on order with the Samson S1000.

    I’m wondering if I should get a Surge Protector for it.

    My other (2) system Amps (Parasound HCA-2003A & B&K Video 5 Sonata) are connected through a Panamax Max1000+.

    The rest of my equipment is connected through another Panamax Max1000+ unit.

    I’m near the 1,800 Watt A/C maximum for both units so I can’t add the S1000 to one of those.

    Shawn S
     

Share This Page