Surge Protector

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Jay Foster, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. Jay Foster

    Jay Foster Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read the post about this which is a sticky. After reading it, I am still unsure about what I should get.

    I have cable at home and the last surge protector I bought would not allow me to view ppv when the cable was run through the surge protector. I would like to get one that allows me to run the surge protector through this but still protects from strikes and has an equipment guarantee.

    I don't want to spend several hundred dollars. Budget is around $150.00. Anyone have a suggestion on what to get?
     
  2. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    What were you using and what did the cable company say when you described your problem to them?
     
  3. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Jay Foster

    Jay Foster Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will have to check the surge protector to see what kind it was.

    What happened is when I was ordering ppv, the picture would constantly "tile" and was unwatchable. The cable company came out and disconnected the cable from the surge protector and ppv has worked fine since then.

    The reason I want one that takes care of cable also, is I live in an area where we get lots of thunderstorms and believe it or not, lightning actually struck the ground, went about 3 feet underground, cut the cable in half but luckily did not ruin my equipment.
     
  5. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Could be a few issues at play there Jay.
    You're splitting your cable and the surge protector had too large of an insertion loss. Usually you can find this spec on a product. If not, ask. Should be able to have one with a loss that's a fractional part of dB. I'd have thought the company would've run some signal strength tests to check matters.
    The cable you've got has gone bad. Specifically, it needs to be reterminated.
    It's really a very unusual and uncommon problem. And yes, that's a nice looking powercenter. There are so many ways to skin this particular cat. For example, there are products like this,
    [​IMG]
    that go in-line. Variations on this one ($25 but there's plenty cheaper) have an attachment that allows you to run a grounding wire from them to the grounding rod outside your home. In fact, they'd be located about 10 feet or less from the grounding rod. An example of such a product looks like this...
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page