1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

"Superman: The Movie" science question

Discussion in 'Movies' started by Don Giro, Jul 20, 2004.

1. Don Giro

Don Giro Supporting Actor

Don
    I was revisiting "Superman: The Movie" the other day, and I'd like something explained to me, if anyone has any scientific insight.

When the Fortress of Solitude is created and Clark "meets" Jor-El, his father tells him (I'm paraphrasing here) "By now, you will have reached your eighteenth birthday...by that reasoning, I will have been dead for many thousands of your Earth years..."

How does that work? I know there's some sort of scientific principle at work here, but it escapes me.

2. Mike Brogan

Mike Brogan Second Unit

I'm no scientist (now that's an understatement) but I would think it would be the same principle in that many of the stars you see in the sky have already burned out but their light is just now reaching us, hence light years. So if you came from millions of miles or even light years away, which I'm assuming Kal-El did, than you'd have the time differential. Which I guess means that Kal-El's spaceship was traveling at near light speed which is why he grew so quickly from an infant to small boy.

I'm sure someone else will answer this question much better than I ever could. But that's what I gathered from the line in question.

3. WillG

WillG Producer

I always thought that line was just incorrect. I see it as what he meant to say was that "by that reasoning, I will have been dead for many thousand Kryptonian years"

BTW, I believe he said just "thousands of your years" he did not say "earth yeas" as you have it quoted. I don't know if that alters the meaning any, but maybe he was meaning "your native Kryptonian years"