What's new

Super High Definition? (1 Viewer)

NEMESIS_2006

Auditioning
Real Name
Kien
Sorry if this question was posted earlier........... I'm a newbie to the HD scene and I could not find any info on it from the search engine.

Well, I was watching Discovery Channel quite some time ago (about a month ago), and they had a show in Japan featuring super high definition, in 4880p.

Does anyone have any info on this? if so, please direct me to the link. I was rather surprised that the Japanese are moving so fast in technology.

NEMESIS

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
they're persuing it for "special venue" type settings, as well as specialized production technique.

The original plan was to send one or two UHR cameras to a sporting event, and generate all of the SD or HD multiple camera shots from the one or two giant "frames". You can get a 16:1 digital zoom out of the image before you actually run out of "content" and start manufacturing blur.

I've seen it demonstrated; they're doing a lot of cheating to do it. The cameras themselves are 4:2:2 color resolution; the projectors (yes, plural) were projecting in 4:2:2 color space.

NHK is the driving force behind it; along with a lot of other companies. JVC, for example, provided the projectors. It's definitely not a consumer medium. The camera was connected to the control and record racks via 16 HD-SDI connections, over one hi-band fiber connection.

Leo Kerr

ChristopherDAC

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
AE5VI
There have been a couple of threads here. The news reports I've read suggest that, with the high resolution, large screens, and relatively high frame rate, there is a danger of inducing nausea in fast-motion scenes due to an excessive sense of telepresence, over and above that which is experienced with IMAX.

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member
Its much more likely to be used as a replacement for theatrical presentations, than for home use. No need to start saving for that shiny new UDTV just yet!

Dave Moritz

Premium