What's new

Suggestions for subwoofer via LFE out (1 Viewer)

GarrickWoi

Auditioning
Hi,

I am new to HT system. I got a marantz 4200 connecting to 2 front speaker + 1 center speaker + 1 passive subwoofer. The way I connect my subwoofer is front LR output from amp to subwoofer LR inputs and my speakers to LR subwoofer outputs. I realised that the subwoofer is not playing "low frequency effects" as effective.

I do not want to spend extra $$ on a active subwoofer. I intend to connect the subwoofer via LEF output from my amp but my subwoofer has only speaker jack for speaker wire i.e. my current connection. How can I work around on that?

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor
You have 2 options. You can leave it the way it is. Just be sure that your receiver setup has a "subwoofer no" or "subwoofer off" directive. The sub would then get all of the signal encoded on the LFE track.

In order to connect via the LFE output you would have to get hold of an amp- the signal from the LFE jack needs to be boosted. Any amp will do- even an old receiver from the 70's that may be in your attic, something from a thrift store, garage sale etc.

Steve_Ma

Second Unit
It sure does. When you tell the Marantz there is no sub and the mains are large...everything goes to the mains but only after your sub filters out the low stuff.

--Steve

Dave_Whiting

Stunt Coordinator
Steve, does this mean if the sun is set at a crossover of 80 Hz, that the mains only get the info over 80 Hz rather than a full signal. The reason I ask is a have a HK 220 and it doesn't have any bass management for stereo mode. Hence connecting a active sub to the LFE the only option for stereo is to send the bass to the sub and the full signal to the mains, in effect getting a doubling up of bass (mains + sub). This wiring method could solve this problem. Is it bad to wire a active sub up in the method described above??

Thanks

GarrickWoi

Auditioning