What's new

Suggestions for starter surround sound set in pre-wired basement (1 Viewer)

Ericflyer27

Auditioning
Real Name
Eric
Hello, this is my first post and I am a complete newbie when it comes to surround sound. I recently bought a house and the finished basement is pre-wired for surround sound. I am not an audiophile by any means but figured I would take advantage of the fact that everything is wired already (plus take advantage of there already being holes in the wall).

For the setup, there are wires for two speakers on a front wall (mounted halfway up wall), two on a back wall (also mounted close to ceiling) and one wire sticking out on the right wall (close to the floor, my guess is for a speaker that had been sitting on the floor), plus the main bundle in the center with all five wires. It looks like the wires were cut when the previous owner removed his equipment, the wires have exposed copper ends (I would post a picture, but the forum doesn't seem to be letting me, suggestions?). From my understanding, I am looking at a 5.1 setup, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

My main question is this -- what would be a good starter surround system and how complicated will it be to attach the speakers to the wires in the walls. While I'm decently handy around the house, I've never worked with these types of wires before. Are there certain systems that would be recommended for a pre-wired setup such as this? I'm not looking for anything expensive, I would like to limit the cost to a few hundred dollars. The basement serves as a secondary TV viewing room and for video games so will not likely get heavy use. While I don't want to be completely cheap, my primary desire is to take advantage of the pre-wired setup and not just patch over the holes.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated and please let me know if there is any further information I can provide that would be beneficial. Thanks

Eric

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name