Suggestions for Speakers to Audition?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris_James, Feb 2, 2003.

1. Chris_James

Chris_James Auditioning

So I am going to get started on a HT in my new house. I was going to begin with a receiver, but some common logic (thanks Angelo) convinced me otherwise, so I am going to begin with some speakers. I was actually able to wire the house before we moved in, so I have monster wire buried from the wall to the media closet for front, rear, and center speakers. Didn't completely know what I was doing so no wires for a sub [​IMG]

As I am new at this, I would appreciate some suggestions on front speakers to audition. I would like to stay in the 600$ ballpark on the pair, and would prefer as wide a freq range as possible (esp low end), as I probably won't be going with a sub. I have the usual Best Buy, Good Guys, Circuit City B&Ms around, in addition to some hard core HT shops, so the brands I have access to include the usual: Klipsch, Energy, Bose, Polk, Boston Acoustic, JBL, and the "unusual": Wharfdale, speakercraft, snell acoustics, monitor audio, definitive technology, M&K, etc. A quick online search from the above B&Ms gave me these two ideas- Polk R50, and the Klipsch SF-2.

Anything else to recommend from these guys in my price range? Anything to avoid? Any other comments? Like I mentioned my ears are pretty new to this- I even think my old Fisher speakers (3" tweeter, 5" mid, 15" woofer) sound good. So hopefully I am in for a suprise. Thanks for the advice.

Chris

2. Mike_Gr

Mike_Gr Stunt Coordinator

When I think of good speakers in that price range....3 manufacturers come to mind that you didn't already mention.

Paradigm has many to choose from at different price ranges. They have a great website you should check out in order to find some particular models that fits your needs (they have many models). Then try your local dealer to audition them.
    Onix Rockets (RS550)
    Axiom M60ti

3. Chris_James