Suggestions for speakers $500-600

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Dwayne F, Dec 5, 2003.

1. Dwayne F

Dwayne F Auditioning

I am new to HT and would like suggestions for speakers. I was considering the Onkyo S760 but after listening to it I didn't really like the sound. I have found a couple speaker systems from Infinity and Polk for 500-600 but the store I was at didn't have them hooked up. What would be the cleanest sounding speakers you guys could recommend in the 500-600 range including sub.

Also I have been following a post about paradigm but I can't find any prices for them at all. I would imagine they are out of my range though.

Thanks for the help

2. JeremyR

JeremyR Supporting Actor

Jeremy
    If you need a sub they might be out of your range. If you don't you can definitely get some Paradigms. But certainly check out the Paradigm cinema series satellites for the $400 range or go with 4 Paradigm Atoms and the CC-170 for around 500 range. Neither include subwoofer though.

3. Tim Streagle

Tim Streagle Stunt Coordinator

Look for some used speakers or get some cheapo's to go with a Hsu STF-1 or STF-2. Replace the speakers down the road, keep the sub.

4. Steve_Corrick

Steve_Corrick Stunt Coordinator

www.accessories4less.com has the Atlantic Technologies T70 sub and satellite system on sale for 599 - retail is 1100. A4L prices can vary day to day. (down from 699)
    Per the reviews it sounds like it might be pretty decent and relatively inexpensive starting point for a HT.

5. Marc H

Marc H Second Unit

Our shop has the first generation Dahlquist QX series on clear out right now at half price to make room for the new series.
    You might consider two pairs of their QX5 bookshelf speakers with a QX40C centre channel and the QX100S subwoofer.
    They are very nice sounding speakers and good value at the regular prices. At the clearance prices, I think I'm fairly safe in saying you won't find anything better [​IMG]