Suggestions for building a subwoofer, Not for home use

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan Hine, Nov 23, 2001.

1. Dan Hine

Dan Hine Screenwriter

Hello all,
    I would like to build a few subwoofers. They would be used for pro audio applications. We currently use typical box (actually in our case, rectangular) cabinents by EAW and OAP. But often times having a cylindrical sub would be handy, to make it disappear into the room decor. So I thought about building some, and if we don't use them I still can at home. [​IMG]
    So what I'm looking for are suggestions on making a pair of subwoofers that would match or beat These EAW's for about $1500 total. Is that even possible?
    Recommendations on drivers and actual subdesign would be very welcome as would links to suggested reading that any of you may see necessary. I am new to this so if you need more information from me please ask.
    Thanks in advance,
    Dan Hine

2. ThomasW

ThomasW Cinematographer

You can put pretty much any speaker in a ported tube enclosure. The problem for touring use is that the tube itself is fragile, and would quickly be dented if not smashed. If it's for a permanent install then the only real consideration is whether or not the driver chosen can be used in a downward firing position. If not the tube would need to lay on it's side

3. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

Dan,

I did the same thing for corporate gigs. Here's what I pretty much found out:

1) This idea really doesn't work too well for concert applications. Tube based units are hard to move, and the sonotub isn't all that sturdy for constant road applications. Moreso, if you want to get big power out of them, you're looking at 15 or 18 inch drivers (probably JBL would be best)- and you're talking about a pretty hefty construction job!