What's new

Suggestions for a $300 receiver...?? (1 Viewer)

Jared Boehm

Auditioning
Sorry for the repeat post, but it occured to me after the fact to add some question marks to my subject. Please ignore the previous post.
I'm currently running an ancient Sherwood Pro Logic receiver and figure it's time to go digital. I'm a poor college student who's only going to be able to afford $300. Period. I just can't swing any more than that, and $300 is pushing it as it is...
Anyway I was looking at the Onkyo TX-SR500 due to Onkyo's good reputation and discreet amplifiers giving cleaner sound and then I made the mistake of going to Circuit City and being enticed by the dumbass sales associate. He claimed he was a "wattage" guy and would reccomend the Pioneer VSX-D711 or the Panasonic SA-HE100 over the Onkyo due to more features and wattage.
I treked on over to http://www.geocities.com/Area51/Holl...1/ratevsac.htm and looked at the numbers, and if I'm reading this right, and I'd like to think I am, the Panasonic actually scores quite a bit better than the Onkyo TX-DS474 (the TX-SR500's prececesor) when it comes to wattage and THD.
Now, I don't currently have anything that needs component video, or even S-Video for that matter, but it would seem that both the Panasonic and Pioneer are geared for the future and have more wattage to boot.
Any suggestions on what I should do? Thanks in advance guys. You're the best.

Stephen Hopkins

HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
For $300, my recomendation would be the Pioneer VSX-D811S ordered from:
http://shop.store.yahoo.com/simplero.../vsxd811s.html
The price at this place is $278. The great part of the deal is that they're only charging around $19 shipping, so the total comes in under $300. I purchased the 811S from another online vender for roughly the same price, but payed $37 shipping.