What's new
World Wide Stereo

Suggestion TO SVS (1 Viewer)

Brian Elwood

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
206
Since I always have to adust the volumn a little whe nI go from movies to music (I seem to have to boost it for music), I have turned the sub a little for easier adjusting.

HOWEVER - my suggestion for coolness.

Redue the Amp so there is a "cool" factor so we can actually have THAT part IN THE FRONT!!

Make the amp part more visually friendly and the sub will look even more impressive.

Just thinking out loud.
 
Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

ScottCarr

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
459
Brian

Can't you adjust the sub level on the receiver or Pre/pro via remote?

Although I agree i would love to see a remote capability.
 

Kevin C Brown

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2000
Messages
5,726
Somehow they'd have to do it so it looks good. The subs that I've seen with controls on the front, or top corner in the front (Mirage and Velodyne), don't look so great. A remote would be ideal, if it doesn't add much to the cost. ;)
 

Rudi B

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jul 18, 2002
Messages
143
Configure, calibrate and EQ the sub's amp, and then don't touch it ever again. There. ;)
 

Edward J M

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
2,031
My pre/pro can remember the sub level for each format. So I have it set a little hotter for DD/DTS inputs vice 2 channel redbook or high res. Plus, using the sub level in the pre/pro is far more precise and convenient that guesstimating with the gain at the sub plate amp and then having to recalibrate to veriy.
 

JohnSmith

Supporting Actor
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Messages
554
Not interested in remote for subwoofer, as I have seperate settings for each mode. If that adds costs I would get the non-remote version.

And not interested in cool factors (ie lit logo)
The amp panel is easy to use. Just read the manual.
 

TonyWright

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
272
Maybe I am spoiled too but my AVR handles that for me. It remembers level settings for each format, be it DD, DTS or even simply the "Surround Off" mode.

I wouldn't want to pay for extra stuff on a sub. Don't get me wrong, the idea of a remote controlled sub is interesting, but anything that adds cost to those subs would be a disadvantage in my eyes. They have such an amazing cost/performance as it is. I wouldn't want to damage that.

Just my opinion...

Tony
 

Jean D

Screenwriter
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
1,329
Real Name
Jean D
why didnt you get an ampless SVS (passive?) and buy your own amp that can be remote controlled? or a reciever that can do it.
 

GregBe

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
277
My sub (Cambridge Soundworks P1000) has a remote, and I never use it. It is terrific for calibration, but not everyday use. My AVR remembers sub levels for both inputs, AND also surround modes (DTS, Stereo, DPLII). Using the AVR, you can be exact with your sub levels. Using the remote on the sub, you can adjust by ear, but then you can't get back to the exact level you started at when you are done.

Greg
 

David_L_S

Auditioning
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
1
Previously, before getting my current pre/pro, I calibrated my subwoofer levels for each source and left it there. I was following the adage that "it sounds the way it was recorded". But when I went to the AVM-30, I found myself enjoying the ability to set the bass and/or LFE quickly by remote on different recordings (my old reciever required getting into the set-up menu to make these adjustments). And I can easily set it back to the calibrated level. Many recordings (including movies) are too light/heavy on the bass for my taste and having the ability to make "on-the-fly" adjustments has been great.

Dave
 

Brian Elwood

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
206
geez- ALL I was saying was that it would be nice - not that I had any PROBLEM with turning my own dials.

I HAVE turned the sub around a little but the speaker cords are WONDERFULL play things for the cats.
 

Sam A

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
149
"Make the amp part more visually friendly and the sub will look even more impressive."


thats what external power amps and passive subs are for.
if you want cool factor, buy a neon kit for you sub. to me, anything looking cool is very ugly. meaning I like simple things.
 

David K.

Second Unit
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
260
I have a suggestion for SVS,

is there any possible way to offer your tube subs in different colors? more specifically white?

a white sub would blend in with my walls and look less intrusive, I would also assume that since many homes have white painted walls, this move would nod towards WAF and possibly move more units?
 

JohnSmith

Supporting Actor
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Messages
554
SVS could include colour (yes COLOUR NOT COLOR!) matched stumps, instead of the standard black-for-all-finished cylinder/box subs. It doesn't look right with a wood finish sub with black stumps.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
357,277
Messages
5,134,507
Members
144,340
Latest member
Phoneman66
Recent bookmarks
0
Top