Suggestion TO SVS

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Brian Elwood, Oct 10, 2004.

  1. Brian Elwood

    Brian Elwood Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I always have to adust the volumn a little whe nI go from movies to music (I seem to have to boost it for music), I have turned the sub a little for easier adjusting.

    HOWEVER - my suggestion for coolness.

    Redue the Amp so there is a "cool" factor so we can actually have THAT part IN THE FRONT!!

    Make the amp part more visually friendly and the sub will look even more impressive.

    Just thinking out loud.
     
  2. ScottCarr

    ScottCarr Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brian

    Can't you adjust the sub level on the receiver or Pre/pro via remote?

    Although I agree i would love to see a remote capability.
     
  3. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somehow they'd have to do it so it looks good. The subs that I've seen with controls on the front, or top corner in the front (Mirage and Velodyne), don't look so great. A remote would be ideal, if it doesn't add much to the cost. [​IMG]
     
  4. Rudi B

    Rudi B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Configure, calibrate and EQ the sub's amp, and then don't touch it ever again. There. [​IMG]
     
  5. MingL

    MingL Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    If adding a remote adds $500 more to the price, I'd forget about it.
     
  6. Edward J M

    Edward J M Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    My pre/pro can remember the sub level for each format. So I have it set a little hotter for DD/DTS inputs vice 2 channel redbook or high res. Plus, using the sub level in the pre/pro is far more precise and convenient that guesstimating with the gain at the sub plate amp and then having to recalibrate to veriy.
     
  7. JohnSmith

    JohnSmith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not interested in remote for subwoofer, as I have seperate settings for each mode. If that adds costs I would get the non-remote version.

    And not interested in cool factors (ie lit logo)
    The amp panel is easy to use. Just read the manual.
     
  8. TonyWright

    TonyWright Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I am spoiled too but my AVR handles that for me. It remembers level settings for each format, be it DD, DTS or even simply the "Surround Off" mode.

    I wouldn't want to pay for extra stuff on a sub. Don't get me wrong, the idea of a remote controlled sub is interesting, but anything that adds cost to those subs would be a disadvantage in my eyes. They have such an amazing cost/performance as it is. I wouldn't want to damage that.

    Just my opinion...

    Tony
     
  9. Garrett Lundy

    Garrett Lundy Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uh... turn the sub so the amp is facing otuwards?
     
  10. TonyWright

    TonyWright Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    WAF may be an issue there. My wife would certainly not be pleased with it. [​IMG]


    Tony
     
  11. Jean D

    Jean D Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    why didnt you get an ampless SVS (passive?) and buy your own amp that can be remote controlled? or a reciever that can do it.
     
  12. GregBe

    GregBe Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    My sub (Cambridge Soundworks P1000) has a remote, and I never use it. It is terrific for calibration, but not everyday use. My AVR remembers sub levels for both inputs, AND also surround modes (DTS, Stereo, DPLII). Using the AVR, you can be exact with your sub levels. Using the remote on the sub, you can adjust by ear, but then you can't get back to the exact level you started at when you are done.

    Greg
     
  13. David_L_S

    David_L_S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Previously, before getting my current pre/pro, I calibrated my subwoofer levels for each source and left it there. I was following the adage that "it sounds the way it was recorded". But when I went to the AVM-30, I found myself enjoying the ability to set the bass and/or LFE quickly by remote on different recordings (my old reciever required getting into the set-up menu to make these adjustments). And I can easily set it back to the calibrated level. Many recordings (including movies) are too light/heavy on the bass for my taste and having the ability to make "on-the-fly" adjustments has been great.

    Dave
     
  14. Brian Elwood

    Brian Elwood Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    geez- ALL I was saying was that it would be nice - not that I had any PROBLEM with turning my own dials.

    I HAVE turned the sub around a little but the speaker cords are WONDERFULL play things for the cats.
     
  15. Sam A

    Sam A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Make the amp part more visually friendly and the sub will look even more impressive."


    thats what external power amps and passive subs are for.
    if you want cool factor, buy a neon kit for you sub. to me, anything looking cool is very ugly. meaning I like simple things.
     
  16. Robert_Gaither

    Robert_Gaither Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually suggest something better such as a good multimedia sub for our computers.
     
  17. David K.

    David K. Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a suggestion for SVS,

    is there any possible way to offer your tube subs in different colors? more specifically white?

    a white sub would blend in with my walls and look less intrusive, I would also assume that since many homes have white painted walls, this move would nod towards WAF and possibly move more units?
     
  18. Brian Elwood

    Brian Elwood Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure a WHITE SUB would get as good of base.
     
  19. Jean D

    Jean D Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    is that a joke brian?
     
  20. JohnSmith

    JohnSmith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    SVS could include colour (yes COLOUR NOT COLOR!) matched stumps, instead of the standard black-for-all-finished cylinder/box subs. It doesn't look right with a wood finish sub with black stumps.
     

Share This Page