Subwoofer selection help for a commercial application...

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Greg Fullerton, Aug 7, 2004.

1. Greg Fullerton

Greg Fullerton Auditioning

I am in the process of putting together a subwoofer system for a bar/ restaurant. I mostly do all custom residential work, so I'm a little new to this arena. Hopefully someone here can lend some advise. I understand that I could contact some manufacturers directly, but I want to hold off on that until I get some feedback....

The Bar area is huge, approx. 30,000 cubic feet of air space. There is a doorway that connects the bar area to the main dining room. The owner wants to add some "umph" to the ceiling speakers in the bar area due to the crowd noise on the weekends. He doesn't need a rock concert style system, just some much needed help. All of his ceiling speakers are being driven off of a Crown CH2 amp.

I have looked into going with something like another Crown amp with a Sub like a Bag End. The problem is, where do we put the thing? It eats up some floor space.

I have also looked at getting into something like 4 powerful home audio subs that can be tucked away. For this avenue I can go with MK, Earthquake or perhaps another brand.

Thanks for the help and suggestions!!

2. WayneO

WayneO Supporting Actor

3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Well, certainly a single sub isn’t going to work in a room that big, for a number of reasons.

For one, the people near the thing will be overwhelmed if it’s up high enough for the people furthest away to hear it.

Along the same lines you have the inherent delay problem, with the people farthest from the sub hearing both it and ceiling speakers directly overhead.

Also, are the existing speakers using a 70-volt set-up? The fact that they’re all driven by a single amp tells me this is probably the case. If so, depending on the existing front-end equipment, it might be a little tricky integrating subs with them, especially active subs.