Subwoofer Repair?

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Brent Smith, Mar 2, 2004.

  1. Brent Smith

    Brent Smith Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Given the cost of subwoofers is it smarter to just replace a damaged subwoofer or possibly get it repaired? The sub got a very high pitched "POP" twice from a digital audio source(watching an HDTV broadcast of a football game) and it was only after I was watching a movie with what I knew was much lower "oomph" then I was used to that I realized the sub was not engaging. It doesn't seem to be getting any power at all and the self test mode for my receiver can't make it engage either.

    Thanks,

    Brent Smith
     
  2. Robb Roy

    Robb Roy Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brent,

    That really depends on the sub (not to mention whether it's under warranty). If you've got a KLH, just replace it. If it's a Velo DD series, get it fixed. What is the make and model of the sub?

    -Robb
     
  3. Lee Carbray

    Lee Carbray Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may have just blown a fuse or it may have a thermal shut off. I remember once on my old Cerwin Vega it bottomed twice on the "Ring drop" scene and shut off. I could not get it to play but then the next day it started working again. A closer read of the manual stated there was thermal protection circuitry. Definetly check for the fuse first.
     
  4. Brent Smith

    Brent Smith Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Lee,

    So if the fuse is blown that would prevent sub from getting power at all(and thus prevent it from working at all)?

    Thanks,

    Brent Smith
     
  5. Robert_Gaither

    Robert_Gaither Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Start by treating it as a new installation make certain it's properly connected both to the AVR and outlet. Check the phase, gain, power switch, and AVR settings (double check if the sub is on, all speakers small, and any lfe attenuation off). Try a few test sweeps/tones.

    If the above failed, check the fuse, if it's ok then connect at line level and reset the AVR to mains/front large, sub off, and run sweeps. If that fails then your sub's amp is defective. If this works then turn the gain to minimum disconnect from AVR and connect the sub input to CD's pre-out a play a source, if the bass is back then your AVR's sub pre-out is defective.
     
  6. Robb Roy

    Robb Roy Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brent,

    Yes, if the fuse is blown the sub will not work at all. Lee and Robert have some great ideas about diagnosing the problem.

    -Robb
     
  7. Brent Smith

    Brent Smith Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all,

    Looked over the sub from stem to stern... no fuse in plain view so I am assuming it doesn't have one. The model number in question is a JBL PSW-D112.

    Thanks for all the help so far,

    Brent Smith
     
  8. Jeff Detiege

    Jeff Detiege Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure about JBL, but the fuse should be located under a small knob (dime size) near the power cord. It will unscrew counterclockwise and the fuse will be connected to the end.
     
  9. Brent Smith

    Brent Smith Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Jeff,

    I've scouted the back with a fine tooth comb, there unfortunately is no fuse. I am betting JBL planned for "obsolesence" or wanted to charge premium for a repair if it dies outside of warranty (which it is). There is no JBL service center in my area so would a normal stereo repair shop be able to fix this problem?

    Thank you,

    Brent Smith
     
  10. Arthur S

    Arthur S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 1999
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Brent

    Not sure if your model was one of those JBLs from a couple years ago. There were quite a few in which the digital amp died.

    As I recall, they had to go to a JBL service center to have the amp replaced.

    Hopefully, your problem is no more than a fuse.

    Artie
     
  11. Chad Texas

    Chad Texas Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my 15" version blew a capacitor. Call JBL Support and tell them the problem. They covered the part and I pd labor and shipping from Tx to LA.

    Cost $75.00
     
  12. MarkO

    MarkO Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 1999
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has to be a main fuse somewhere. If it has a round toridial transformer, Im betting its part of its windings. Ive seen this on a few infinity servo subs.
     

Share This Page