Subwoofer Question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by James Daniels, May 7, 2002.

  1. James Daniels

    James Daniels Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] I am wondering why my subwoofer cuts off. I has been doing it the last few days. I am watching TV or listening to CDs and all of the sudden the subwoofer shuts off and no bass is coming out. Can someone help. Thanks.
     
  2. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Interesting, especially since when you listen to CD's (non-LFE) it cuts out too. Sounds like a sub problem to me. Others?
     
  3. John Desmond

    John Desmond Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could be the sub. I'd check the connections first. Interconnects can have intermittent problems. Swap out interconnects first and see if it is fixed. Otherwise I'd say time to call your dealer.
     
  4. Dustin B

    Dustin B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this at loud or quiet levels. If quiet levels, could be the auto on/off circuit timing out because the signal level to the sub is too low.
     
  5. Cam S

    Cam S Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya Dustin is right. If i am listening to the T.V, or anything at a low volume it sometimes trips the auto shut off on the amp, no biggie, it will turn back on as soon as there is some bass at a higher volume.
     
  6. DennisMc

    DennisMc Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed the same thing. I recently bought an SVS 25-31PCi and it seems the "auto-on/off" signal threshold is set too high. While watching TV at "normal" volumes, the Sub will turn off after a while. I have to crank the volume up or get up and flip the switch to "on".
     
  7. Dustin B

    Dustin B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    When no signal is going to the plate amp they don't draw much more power in the on position than they do in the auto on position. My solution was to just leave the amp in the on position all the time. Worked out to something like $8 a year more on my power bill so who cares.
     
  8. James Daniels

    James Daniels Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last night, I went to Best Buy where I bought it and one of the sales guy was telling me that the sub has an automatic shutoff feature when it detects no bass or barely any and shuts off to save power. Thanks for your help.[​IMG]
     
  9. Steve_Ma

    Steve_Ma Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's the AUTO on/off feature, I agree, that it's probably easiest to just leave it in the ON position.

    I have also seen some people get around this by setting the ch level higher in the AVR/Pre-pro and then turning the volume down on the sub. Recalibrate that way. I guess the idea behind this is to keep more "juice" going to the sub on a consistet basis to prevent it from tripping off so often.

    Good Luck,

    --Steve
     
  10. Chip E

    Chip E Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 20-39PC has been "on" for 9 months or so... no problem with it being in this position at all.
     
  11. Leon Liew

    Leon Liew Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Velodyne is always in the 'on' position ready for incoming LFE signals when watching or listening.Sure beats the hassle of switching on & off.
     

Share This Page