Subwoofer out on older receiver?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by BlakeH, Jan 23, 2002.

  1. BlakeH

    BlakeH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a powered subwoofer, but have an older receiver. It does not have the Subwoofer labeled out, but I'm wondering if there are any other outs that I might be able to use that would enable it too be powered?
     
  2. Troy_K

    Troy_K Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, run it parallel with your mains.

    Troy
     
  3. Ryan Ab

    Ryan Ab Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem, so what I did was to run the outs of the tape output on the receiver to the ins of my sub, which coincidentally has 2 (l and r) inputs.

    --Ryan
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    The big problem with that, Ryan, is that the tape outputs are a fixed-level signal. Thus the sub will remain at the same level when you turn the receiver’s volume up and down.

    Regards,

    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  5. Jerome Grate

    Jerome Grate Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I've gotta say it, I know your older receiver you probably paid a lot of money for and still sounds awesome. However the fact that you don't have a sub woofer pre-out to fully utilize the sub sounds to me you need a new receiver. Running them parallel to your speakers is the best way to go but does your receiver allows you to set the speakers to large so that all lfe will go to the sub. Just my .02
     

Share This Page