What's new

Subwoofer Not Kickin in DD (1 Viewer)

Tim_Midnite

Auditioning
Hey people! I'm new at this so don't pick on me. I'm a newbie at this home theater thing and just got my first entry level HTiB. The Onkyo HTS650. It does really well for the small space that I'm in. The only thing I can't figure out is why when I'm playing a DVD in DD does the Sub in 5.1 seem to to be playing nothing at all. It sounds good when it's on tuner or when it's playing a CD or even the TV. It's only when I switch to DD 5.1. I think I have all the cables correct. I have a digital coax from the dvd player to the receiver and the sub is connected with an AR Sub cable. Granted those aren't my only cables but I think the AR cables may have something to do with it? Low quality maybe? Everything else works fine.....Please help!!

Any input would be appreciated
Thanks

Darren_T

Second Unit
Couple things to check...

First what receiver do you have?

If you have your sub connected to the receiver LFE out check the settings on the receiver to be sure that you have subwoofer set to "YES".

Second thing to check is the gain on the sub... is it passive or powered? If it's powered check the sub gain.

Just a couple that came to mind right away. I'm not familiar with HT in a box so I might be missing something there.

Darren

Everett A

Agent
here's a possibility :

most htib's don't sport the highest performance subs, in fact the subs probably tend to output the "midbass" frequencies that are common in radio and tv signals.

when you're playing a dd source (from dvd) the sub may not have as much of the midbass signal to put out, and is probably not as capable at putting out the deeper frequencies that dd is giving it.

Also, the deeper frequencies aren't heard as much as felt (when produced accurately).

LawrenceZ

Stunt Coordinator