Subwoofer interconnect

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Frank Chang, Dec 9, 2001.

1. Frank Chang

Frank Chang Agent

I'm a relative newbie to this forum but have read many past posts.

Upgrading a midlevel HT with Denon 3802. Decided to add a Sony SAWM40 sub for LFE to compensate for older small Rear & side surround speakers (have purchased polyfil & feet not yet installed). Aesthetics will dictate about an 18 foot distance from 3802 to sub. I have 6' & 12' Radio Shack Gold interconnects I could easily link together and also a DIY RCA terminated Belden 9116 75 ohm coax. How important is the interconnect for a budget sub doing only LFE?

I'm wondering which wire will sound better or should I go out and buy something else?

2. Evan S

Evan S Cinematographer

You are opening a can of worms with this one, but IMO you will be fine linking the two cables. Because a sub doesn't produce a full frequency range, you might get a boomy-ness type sound with a patched cable, but the degree of clarity you may gain from a new cable may not justify the cost here. Again, this is my own opinion. I am not a "cables make no difference" guy either...I agree they do, but for this application I think you will be fine.

At least try it first, then if you don't like the sound, think it's boomy...buy a new cord and compare.

-Ev

3. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

I might disagree and recommend a single, un-broken cable. The one made from Belden coax should be fine.

Here are my thoughts:

Coax tends to be defined by it's upper frequency limits. For subwoofer frequencies 15-120 hz, almost any coax will work fine.

But when SVS subs came out, they also recommended inexpensive/generic cables. But an early purchaser got a unit and found it to be un-impressive compared to the less-expensive unit he was replacing.

After a few days, another cable, still the same cheap grade, was tried and the results were much better.