What's new

Subwoofer Hum, please help (1 Viewer)

JoshBerens

Auditioning
Noob here, is the search function always down? Anyway, I have a Klipsch KSW12 II sub and I'm getting a very noticable hum from it. The hum is quieter when the receiver is turned off, but still there. I have tried using both the speaker wire inputs as well as the RCA inputs and get the same hum. When the sub is on and there are no inputs connected, there is no hum. I have had the same sub/receiver in the past 5 places I've lived. Home, college, townhome and two homes of my own in the past two years. The sub was fine at my parents home, at college, and in the townhome, I did have to use a two prong power cord adaptor. The hum has been present in my first house and in the one I just moved in to. Do you have any suggestions?

ScottAndrew

Stunt Coordinator
The TV cable is a frequent culprit. If you have it plugged into your receiver or TV, try disconnecting it and see if the hum stops.
My cable guy connected the cable to the grounding screw on my wall outlet. It worked for a day, then it loosened and I had a much quieter hum. Then I used a 2-pronged cheater plug for my receiver and that killed it.

JoshBerens

Auditioning
I can try that, but it's just some bunny ears. We just moved in a couple weeks ago and still have to get the satelite dish approved by the association.

steve nn

Senior HTF Member
If you have a long extension cord you might want to try plugging in your sub on a different circuit? I would go to the extent of running it up the stairs if you live in a two story home. You might try setting your SW gain up past the middle value on your receiver and then go no higher than 20-30% on your plate. What extreme of a humm are you having to deal with?

JoshBerens

Auditioning