What's new

Subwoofer for dorm? Shiva vs. DPL12 (1 Viewer)

DaveWo

Auditioning
Alright guys, I'm new here, so be gentle :) So here's my question. I'm planning to build a sub for my dorm room fairly soon. The construction should be no problem, as my dad is going to help me.

I am planning on building a box with internal dimensions of 15x15x15. (I might be able to pull off 16x16x16...if it's necessary to get a good sound).

SO I've emailed a few companies asking for opinions on what driver/amp combo to use and have certainly gotten a variety of answers. I think I've narrowed it down to 2 combos though.

I am thinking either the Shiva with a Rythmik 350 amp....OR a DPL12 with a Parts Express 250 WAtt amp. (These combos are based on price if you didn't notice)

So the guy at Adire said the DPL12 is an upgrade over the Shiva, but if I go that route, we are talking less power. You can see the predicament.

So, suggestions? Keep in mind, I'm a newbie, so if you're going to go into detailed technical explanations, try to put it in laymen's terms (or at least link me to a website that does :D ) Well, thanks, hope you guys can help me out.

DanWiggins

Second Unit
DPL12. Power difference is really pretty minimal, around 1 dB difference in max SPL; not really noticeable. Go with the DPL12, and you'll gain a good 1/3rd octave on the bottom end extension. And that IS noticeable.

Dan Wiggins
Adire Audio

CarlDais

Stunt Coordinator
Dave, Dan Wiggins has given you a good perspecitve.

Also you might want to consider STRYKE Audio...do
a search. You want their SA-1203 driver. It's
John's respsonse to the Shiva....just as capable and
a bit less expensive. He can help with you the design.
He can help with the amp as well. And he is near you.

Parts Express Titanic-II is a very serious contender
in this strong 12" arena...they can help with the desgin and the amps selection.

MattD

Stunt Coordinator
Also consider the revised AV12. You can pre-order it for $140 at Stryke Audio.

Matt