Subwoofer choice...help me decide please

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Craig*C, Jun 21, 2006.

1. Craig*C

Craig*C Auditioning

I'm looking to get a subwoofer for my room (approximately 16 x 20 feet 8 foot ceiling in center but drops on the sides following roofline). I've narrowed my choices down to two subs but, as I'm a relative newbie, I thought I'd leave it up to the experts to recommend something.

Right now, I'm looking at the Axiom EP350 V2 and the SVS 16-46PCi. I'm looking at these two mostly based on price (with shipping, the SVS is 10 dollars more expensive than the Axiom). I'm on a bit of a budget and 675 dollars is really the maximum amount I can spend without having to deal with divorce, custody battles, alimony, etc.

So what do you suggest?

2. Blaine_M

Blaine_M Second Unit

As an SVS owner I'd have to say SVS. You might get more output however if you switched to the 20-39 PCi instead of the 16-46.

3. Arthur S

Arthur S Cinematographer

Craig

These are quite different subs. The 16-46 will give you usable in-room response to below 16Hz. The EP350 will give you usable in-room response to a little below 25Hz.

So, as far as really digging down deep, the SVS will outdo the Axiom.

There are other considerations however:

How important is appearance? Will your wife like the look of the 16-46? It is quite large and possibly not easy to hide. The Axiom, on the other hand, is in my humble opinion, far more attractive, and easier to incorporate with furniture.

And by the way, I own a 20-39PCi, so it is not like I'm anti-SVS.

4. Craig*C

Craig*C Auditioning

LFE Sub? Not sure what that means...As far as movies go...when I'm home alone, fairly loud.

5. Craig*C

Craig*C Auditioning

Okay...found LFE in the glossary.

Let me tell you what I'm doing.