Subwoofer Cable Question

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by nik k, Jan 18, 2004.

  1. nik k

    nik k Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello everyone,
    I have a question that i cant seem to answer using the power of the search button or i may be not understanding this correctly. I was at Circuit City and noticed how they had their subwoofers hooked up. They used coaxial (RF) cable with adapters on the end to make a RCA plug. Is this where the RG6 cable can be used??? Can this be done or is the cheap way, meaning loss in quality of signal??? Can i do this in my home??? My subwoofer is the velodyne CHT-12 conneted to a Denon 3803. Are there any y-adapters so that i can run one cable and then branch to the two inputs on the sub?? I was told this helps.....Does it??? Thanks for the help.

    Nik K.
     
  2. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YOu can do this, it's extremely common. SHould have more than enought bandwidth for subwoofer signal...

    -Vince
     
  3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Yes, using an RG-6 cable with adapters is the "cheap way," but no it does not come at the expense of signal "quality" (which is essentially irrelevant with sub signals anyway).

    Using a "y" adaptor to feed both inputs only increases the of the sub's input gain, due to both inputs being driven instead of one. Beyond that it doesn't "help" anything - you can accomplish the same thing by merely turning up the gain knob.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  4. altan

    altan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup... I've done it, works great.

    ... Altan
     
  5. nik k

    nik k Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info.

    Nik K.
     
  6. JesseBro

    JesseBro Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the coax cable i have is RG59. is this ok?
     
  7. Jerry Parker

    Jerry Parker Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, RG59 is fine.
     

Share This Page