What's new

Subwoofer cable question (1 Viewer)

David_Wong

Auditioning
Forgive my ignorance - I'm an HT newbie. I've just purchased my first HT system and I have a question about the subwoofer cable I bought.

The cable consists of two pieces, a regular 6 meter cable and a "Y" cable with one female connector to two male connectors.

How am I supposed to use this Y connector?

Right now, I am using the regular cable to connect the subwoofer out of my receiver to the sub-in of my subwoofer.

I have a related question: I have read in several places that the "direct mode", or "source mode" that bypasses much of the processing of the receiver is best for listening to stereo recordings. I would like to use that when I listen to CDs which I do 90% of the time. However, on my receiver, that bypasses the bass management as well such that I don't get any sound from the subwoofer when in this mode.

I know I can use the speaker-level inputs to the sub instead, but I would then lose the LFE .1 channel sound when watching DVDs.

Is there a way to hook up my system such that I get subwoofer working when in "direct mode", and have the LFE working when watching DVDs, without having to re-wire the system in between?

Thanks in advance!

Lee Carbray

Second Unit
You did not mention your sub, however a lot have a left and right sub input. They are usually summed to mono. with that Y adapter you can put in in line with the sub cable and sub. Sub cable male end into female of Y connector and the two male Y connectors to the left and right input into the sub. Once you do this you may have to turn down the gain on the sub to have it at the same level because of the increased signal. However there is no audible advantage to use the Y adapter over the straight cable.