Subwoofer amplifier and wiring

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by HowardCanning, Aug 21, 2003.

  1. HowardCanning

    HowardCanning Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I have my DIY sub being powered from one channel of a Technics stereo integrated amplifier. I think it delivers 100Watts per channel, which is less than this sub can handle. Is there any way I would go about "bridging" the amplifier and connecting my receiver's sub output to both the right and left channels to get more power?
     
  2. David Giesbrecht

    David Giesbrecht Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless the amp say's you can bridge it, you can't.
    Is it a dual voice coil sub? If it is than you can connect each channel on the receiver to a seperate voice coil on the sub.
     
  3. HowardCanning

    HowardCanning Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not a DVC sub. I'm sure I heard somewhere about some method of "bridging" non bridgeable amps. Oh well.
     
  4. David Giesbrecht

    David Giesbrecht Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. HowardCanning

    HowardCanning Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd love to know if anyone knows how to do it [​IMG]
     
  6. Anthony_I

    Anthony_I Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0


    Doesnt this damage the speaker? i thought i heard something about different signals being sent to the voice coils or something...
     
  7. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    I never cease to be amazed at the number of people asking this question. There is a simple reason why manufacturers did not make provisions for bridging stereo receiver and integrated amps: It would be pretty useless as a stereo component if it’s running mono, wouldn’t it?

    All you need to do is drive the inputs out of phase and connect to the positive speaker terminals. However, unless the amps were designed to operate in stereo at half the impedance you will be using bridged, you can expect this experiment to have an unhappy – perhaps spectacular - ending.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  8. TimForman

    TimForman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Jeremy Stockwell

    Jeremy Stockwell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0


    Anthony,

    Also check this thread from when I had similar concerns.

    JKS
     

Share This Page