subwoofer amp ?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by jasonBarczew, May 9, 2005.

  1. jasonBarczew

    jasonBarczew Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a Dayton MK111 12" sub and am going to build the box myself. I'm now researching amps for the sub. What size amp should I be looking for? Any recommendations on specific amps?

    thanks
    Jason
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought the MKIII was only available in the 15"????

    For power requirements.. We sort of need to know how big the room is, and what you expect from it?

    If you want true theater level volume/ bass / punch / ect..ect.., you want at least 300watts of true clean RMS power.

    For a more casual type use, 200-ish would probably do.
    On the specs, just a truely decent quality amp is fine.
     
  3. jasonBarczew

    jasonBarczew Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    the room dimensions are 21' x 13'. I was considering the 500 watt amp matched with the Dayton kit at PartsExpress.com but wanted to look at other options as well.
     
  4. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, well if they suggest 500watts, then I'd stick with that.


    The best cheaper amps for this are going to be Pro-Audio amps, like used in live band sound re-inforcement.

    Something like this, running bridged to the Subwoofer Driver.

    http://www.samash.com/catalog/showit...onetodaythanks
     
  5. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 500w PE amp is a pretty good deal and you could mount it as part of your sub box. Pro amps are great for lots of power for the money. For the same price as the PE 500w you could get an EP1500 that when bridged w/ a 4ohm load would give you around 1400w RMS. That's alot of power once it's calibrated it shouldn't be too much unless you severly overdrive it.
     

Share This Page