Subs with a movie switch?

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Doug Smith, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. Doug Smith

    Doug Smith Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like to crank up the LFE for movies, but like to keep it on its proper settings for music. This means I have to go to the back of my JBL to adjust the bass. Any subs out ther in around the five hundred dollar range with front switch to take care of this problem?
     
  2. darrylCHER

    darrylCHER Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Athena AS-P400 has front mounted controls, and is around $400.


    Darryl
     
  3. Wayde_R

    Wayde_R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check out the Velodyne DPS 10 (or 12), they're reasonably priced and highly rated:

    http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...er-8-2004.html

    I have the 12 and paid $650 CND, so I think $500 US should be pretty close to the mark. Movie mode boosts db of a certain range making it more... boomier.
     
  4. LanceJ

    LanceJ Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,168
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why don't you just change the subwoofer level via the receiver's level control? AFAIK most receivers nowadays remember level settings for each individual input (mine does).
     
  5. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    The Cambridge Soundworks Newton subs (P500 and P1000) have a remote control unit that will allow you to do this easily.

    My old Yamaha sub had a remote with memory settings also, so I had one for calibrated ref and "movie". When I got my new sub, I found it was the sub that was lacking and with my new sub I don't find I need to adjust at all after calibration.
     
  6. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,918
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    610


    You beat me to it Lance.

    Being a basically lazy SOB when it comes to my HT, being able to do something from my couch with a remote trumps getting off my lazy ass and doing with a switch, 10 out of 10 times.

    And if you like, a lot of universal remotes let you dial program macros that could make it a one button push operation. I had a +3 and a -3 macro on my Marantz RC2000....worked great.

    BGL
     
  7. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Why buy another sub? Just get a remote controller for the one you have. Check the info at this link. A little patience waiting for one will get you in business for well under $100.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     

Share This Page