What's new

subs and cats (1 Viewer)

William_Gravem

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

Again, I am very new to this so, please bear with my naïve questions.

I am trying to build the best 5.1 system possible given two constraints: budget (of course), and a pair of active cats (claws and all) that I cannot control while my wife and I are at work for much of the day.

I am counting on mounting rears near the ceiling, and plastic reinforced grills to provide protection for my speakers, but I am concerned about my sub. I would love to get an SVS PB1 Plus, but I am concerned about the gap between the down-pointing driver and the integrated bass plate. My cats love to reach into small spaces, and while I have no doubt the sub can take care of itself while in use, I’m very concerned about the hours I’m not there and the sub is turned off.

Would it be possible to attach a grill around the gap between bass plate and body of the sub, or would that ruin the bass? Or should I just go with a front facing sub that has a plastic reinforced grill like some Velodynes? Or perhaps I should get one that just sits on the floor like one of Boston Acoustic’s subs?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

---Bill

JohnSmith

Supporting Actor
Too right William, agree you on that.
You could place a towel around the base of the sub, then remove before watching a film.

KeithY

Stunt Coordinator
My cats were nosing around the base plate of my pb2+, a little concerned that they might crawl in. They stopped
putting their nose where it didn't belong the 1st time I fired up a bass heavy movie. Same with the ports, as soon as the rush of air hit them in the face they never went close again. Now they just sleep on top of it, movie or not.

William_Gravem

Stunt Coordinator
Thank you all for the input.

Even though the sub may defend itself just fine, I'm still looking for a more definite solution. The towel idea is good, but not aesthetically pleasing (translate > my wife would never go for it.)