Sub-Woofer and 2-Channel Music

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andy_Smith, Nov 24, 2002.

1. Andy_Smith

Andy_Smith Auditioning

I'm new to home theater. Currently I have a 2-channel system and listen to a lot of music. My question is, when I use an AV receiver to listen to a 2-channel CD or vinyl record will the receiver send the low frequencies to the subwoofer? Does the answer to this question depend on which receiver I choose?

2. ColinM

ColinM Cinematographer

The answer depends on how you set up the receiver. Mine allows a digital source to play back 2 small speakers (cut off at 100Hz) plus a sub, or 2 large speakers (full range) and a sub getting L+R, or no sub at all.

Most follow those lines pretty closely, many with an adjustable low pass, not fixed at 100 Hz.

Have fun!

3. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Hi Andy. Welcome to HTF! [​IMG]
    Colin pretty much nailed it. Let me be a bit more generic.
    Modern AV receivers have something called "Bass Management". This allows you to define your speakers as LARGE or SMALL. If a speaker is LARGE, it receives the full range of sound. If a speaker is SMALL, the sounds below some value (80 or 100 hz) are sent to:
    - some other speaker defined as LARGE
    - an external subwoofer
    - both
    Yamaha receivers offer the "both" option, not all brands do this as it IS kind of odd.
    Also, a Dolby Digital system is called a "5.1" system with the ".1" being a separate channel for low-frequency sounds. Your bass management can route the ".1" channel to a speaker if you do not have a subwoofer attached.
    The higher-end receivers sometimes let you pick the crossover frequency that separates LARGE vs SMALL. But since many external subwoofers also have a crossover feature, you now have a bit more complex setup.