Sub volume recommendations...

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Jon Musil, Aug 11, 2003.

1. Jon Musil

Jon Musil Stunt Coordinator

I just put together my first real HT and have a few, OK, several questions. Since I'm a newbie I'm sure most of the questions that follow will be embarrassing to me down the road when I know better! Please forgive my ignorance.

FYI, I'm running a Pioneer Elite 43TX, MA gold ref LCRs as fronts with a MA silver LCR center, Audio Source in wall 3 way 8's as rears and a Velodyne HGS-12 sub. Oh, and the new 46" Sammy DLP TV.

My questions are mainly about the sub since I've never had one before... The HGS-12 seems to dominate the system a bit now even though I have the volume set at 50%! I should mention the sub has been broken in, although in perfect condition, and the rest of the speakers have not been broken in YET!

Now to the questions, should I/can I use line level inputs?
    It seems to require a pre-amp which I don't have, but would be willing to get if it made a significant difference.

I have the speakers bi-wired now, should I utilize the 80Hz high pass output of the sub to bi-amplify the system? This would require the pre-amp right? Again, would it be a significant upgrade?

What is a "normal" range volume setting for a 1250 watt servo controlled sub used for both HT and music in a system like mine?

Perhaps tied to the previous volume setting question.. What should the reciever settings be at for the sub? 0 dB's or elsewhere +,-?

To get the ideal amount of sub overlap on the the mains (the FR of the mains is 40hz-30Khz) where should I set the low-pass crossover? FYI, it has an infinitely variable setting range of 40 to 120 Hz?

In the manual there is only two sentences on phase control with room for interpretation, where should I set it? 0 or 180? Or, does it simply come down to the ear test as the manual alludes?

That's all, for now :b

Thank you for your patience and indulgence!

Most sincerely,
    Jon