What's new

Sub to match Axiom speakers? (1 Viewer)

Ryan Muldoon

Auditioning
I am currently looking into purchasing my first home theater/stereo. I am a college student, so I am on a relative budget. However, I am the sort that would prefer to spend a little extra on something that is good quality, and will last me a while. I'd like to have what I purchase last me a few years. So with that in mind, here is my current planned setup:
Mains: Axiom M22Ti (from axiom's factory outlet) $320
Center: Axiom VP100 (factory outlet) $176
Rears: Axiom M3Ti (factory outlet) $220
Recevier: Not entirely certain yet....the possibilities are the Outlaw 1050, Onkyo 600, Denon 1802 (or 2802 if I can find a deal), or the HK AVR 320 (or 520 if I can get a deal). $400-$550, I'd imagine
I am not sure about what a good sub would be is. I would like a sub that will complement my speakers for music, but I would obviously also like to enjoy DVDs and such. I've been reading many good things about SVS subs, and Hsu VTF-2's as well. But I don't want to "overpower" my speakers, or get something that won't be a good match. Axiom's subs seem to not be that great for the money in comparison to SVS or Hsu. I've read that there is a sony sub for ~$135 that is pretty good, but I'd like to know what "pretty good" is relative to. I really would prefer to not go above $1600 for everything...ideally I'd like to be closer to the $1200 mark, but I don't know how realistic that is. I'm willing to spend (some) more for better sound that will last a number of years, but I don't want to buy a sub that is way the hell better than the rest of my system. I'm just trying to get the most quality for my dollar. Could anyone offer me some advice? Thanks!

Dan_Jones

Stunt Coordinator
Hi Ryan, great setup you have picked out. I have a similar dorm room setup, except M50's instead of M22's.