What's new

sub recommendations? - small room, poor student (1 Viewer)

Benny G

Second Unit
I recently started my home theater/audio system. I currently have the Harman Kardon AVR-310 receiver and AR S50 mains.
My next addition will be a subwoofer.
I am a college student on a limited budget who lives in a smallish dorm room.
Budget: looking to spend up to $300 or so
Room size: about 12'x12'
I have a subwoofer for my computer speakers (Altec Lansing ADA-885) which is 60 watts. That thing puts out quite a bit of bass. It can shake the walls pretty good if I turn the volume up. (these speakers are great for the price, btw, $200)
I am looking for recommendations for a subwoofer (and place to buy it) that fits these general qualifications (up to $300 or so, 12'x12' room).
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Chuck C

Senior HTF Member
Being a poor college student myself in a room about 13x11, I was lucky enough to score an old Velodyne sub for $90 by inquirng in the classified sections of the forums. This thing adds so much oomph, it's scary sometimes. Sold 6 years ago for $599, the va-810x has an 8" front firing woof w/ 200w amp and a 10" down firing woof. It's the perfect size and offers to the best performance for the dorm. Hopefully you get lucky. If you're looking to buy new, perhaps your AVR has B speaker outs where you could amp a 12" car sub. If not, you could always pick up an old stereo amp for $50 on ebay, buy a car sub & enclosure, and really shake the hell outta the place. Good Luck...
-Chuck
P.S. a couple months ago, I would have reocmmended the 10" JBL (PB-10) or 12" Klipsch, but that has all changed.
------------------
Chuck
Chuckster's HT Site
Equipment List
The Dorm Room Theater

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The advantage of the Velodynes is the active circuitry. Yamaha subs also employ this technique (and a few others). It works quite well.
Yamaha YST-SW320 is a good deal. Active Servo/200W/20Hz for under $300.