Sub placement "Q"

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Carson E, Dec 20, 2002.

1. Carson E

Carson E Agent

Is placing a sub next to and in line with a front R or L speaker OK? Yes, I'm somewhat new to 5.1 setups.
    Also sub is 15" wide and front spks are 19'' from side walls of a 15ft. wide room. So would placing the sub between the speaker and the wall be theoretically better or on the inside of the speaker between spk. and TV, 3.5ft.

I use B&W 604S3 as mains and rears and music is 90% of listening. Most music does not need the sub but there are several CDs that do so the best music experience is what I'm looking for.
    Also due to a disability I can't be moving the sub a lot to experiment. Really appreciate any advise on inside or outside and distance from mains.
    Carson.

2. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

The best rule of thumb I've comes across for sub placements is:
    1) In a corner for the highest output.
    2) 1/3 or 2/5 along the longest wall for flatest freq response.
    [​IMG]

3. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Since you are not mobile, I suggest you get:
    - A six pack of premium beer
    - A friend or nearby neighbor
    - A long CATV coax cable and 2 "F-to-RCA-Male" adapters from Radio Shack. Use this to make a 25 ft subwoofer cable for about $12.
    Prep:
    Chill the beer. Make the long subwoofer cable. Que up some bass-heavy CD. Disconnect all other speakers.
    Invite the friend over and have him put the subwoofer in place of your primary listening position. Use the long CATV coax as the subwoofer cable. Start playing the CD, perhaps even putting the bass-heavy music in a A->B repeat loop.