sub gurus....edward, frank, and others....

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by SandellV, Oct 1, 2004.

1. SandellV

SandellV Auditioning

im just curious on how you guys wire multiple subwoofers...y split-ing the preout?...signal amplifiers?...etc...please share....thanks...

2. Scott Goldsmith

Scott Goldsmith Stunt Coordinator

I am no expert, but when I had 3 subs, I used a y-splitter off the back of the receiver, one cable went to the 20-39 PC+, the other went to my Samson S1000 amp, then speakers wires went to the Dual 20-39 CS's.

That's how I did it.

3. ScottCHI

ScottCHI Screenwriter

some subs do have a "pre-out(s)" that allow(s) the signal to be passed

4. Edward J M

Edward J M Cinematographer

I haven't run multiple subs in a while, but I favor splitting the pre-out with a Y. Daisy chaining has the potential to add noise and I don't use that method.

I've never split the pre-out more than once, but in theory the voltage at each split should be the same. How many times the signal can be split in actual practice before something adverse happens is up for debate; maybe someone else can chime in.

5. steve nn

steve nn Cinematographer

I haven't run multiple subs in a while, but I favor splitting the pre-out with a Y. Daisy chaining has the potential to add noise and I don't use that method.
    __________________________________________________ ____

As Ed states. Some times the signal becomes weaker to the sub at the end of the line when using the daisy method. As to why I really cant say.

I have Y'd up to four subs in the past and never had a problem. A person can do the Y at the end of the line if they would like to save on cable cost. It's also handy if you have a long run. How many times a guy can split the signal and get away with it is beyond me.

6. ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles Producer

just use a y splitter.