Sub enclosure dimensions for av12

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Joey Skinner, Sep 27, 2003.

1. Joey Skinner

Joey Skinner Second Unit

I want to build a small sealed sub for a Stryke av12. WinISD(if I did it right) indicates a 14w 22h 9d inches enclosure. I would rather have a more square box. Could someone give me dimensions for an enclosure or a link to a site with plans?

2. Eric Eash

Eric Eash Second Unit

according to those measurements, you could just do a 14" cube, or bump it up accordingly to 15", 16" 17" or even 18". not sure if anyone has gone over 18" cube for their AV12 though. make sure you read through the forum. do some searches and see what you find.

eric

3. Joey Skinner

Joey Skinner Second Unit

Thanks for the replies. I'm new to DIY speaker building and I want to make sure I do things right the first time. If I build a 14in cube out of 3/4 mdf will it need any braces or internal reinforcement? I've been surfing this wonderful forum for a couple of weeks and sometimes all the info is a little overwhelming. I'm hoping that after I get a couple of projects under my belt it will all make a little more sense.
    Thanks for your patience,
    Joey

4. Frank Carter

Frank Carter Screenwriter

5. Paul Spencer

Paul Spencer Stunt Coordinator

The Stryke website suggests 1 - 3 cubic feet. I did some simulations and found that 1cu ft limited extension a little too much, but there was not much gain in using a bigger box than 2 cu ft. If doing sealed I would suggest 2 cu ft is a good place to start.

Bracing is always a good idea. You want a very rigid box so it won't vibrate and colour the sound. In a sealed box, half the output of the driver will either be absorbed within the box (converted to heat) by the stuffing or will vibrate the enclosure - so you make the box rigid to make sure that very little is allowed to turn into sound!!!