sub behind couch?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by andrew_walker, Jan 6, 2003.

1. andrew_walker

andrew_walker Auditioning

my HT is laid out like this:
    [ [
    [ couch [
    [ [
    do you think i would get better bass if i were to put my 8" sub behind the couch? (i prefer to have the room shake and really feel the base) I just think behind the couch would be better but im not an expert so thats why im asking you guys.sorry this diagram didnt work like i wanted it to, the pool table is off to the side, not inbetween the couch and tv.

2. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    If you want the room to shake, you may actually have to upgrade the sub when you can (to a 12" would be my recommendation) but as for the location, there have been a efw that have done what you are asking. My only concern with doing this with an 8" sub would be being able to localize the sub (know where in the room it is by listening). If a room has only one sub, I usually suggest an up-front placement for most rooms where it will blend into the front soundstage and a bigger sub will still help to sjake the entire room from that location.

BTW, I am moving this to speakers/subwoofers.

3. Phil_Lunar

Phil_Lunar Stunt Coordinator

I am using a 8" sub(a passive sub powered by my old stereo amp 2X100) behind the couch and I have to admit that since I've made this move, it's been night and day compare to the base I fell now and when I was using it up front.

I've positionned it behind the couch facing the back wall, the front grid is like 6" from the wall(a concrete wall so this might help for bass dispertion)

I got very strong bass and I can't locate it at all.

I am currently buliding myselft a 16-46 Shiva sonotub sub, but until it will be finish, my old 8" behind the couch, will very much do!

4. KevinW

KevinW Stunt Coordinator