What's new

Stupid question....How do I make a 4x6 print? (1 Viewer)

Bob_C

Agent
Hi guys,
As the thread title probably indicates, I am new to the digital photography world. I have a Canon Powershot A70 and so far I love it. But I have a ton of pictures on my PC that when I try to print come out all wrong for a 4x6 print. The software that came with my camera doesn't seem to allow me to easily crop my pix to the correct ratio for printing. Am I missing something? What do you guys use for this task? I downloaded a trial version of Adobe's Photoshop Elements but this might be more than I need for what I would consider a basic task. Thanks;)

Citizen87645

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cameron Yee
Photoshop Elements is definitely the way to go, but then I like to have control and know what exactly is happening to my print. You can also do what needs to be done with Microsoft Photo Editor.

Open your image, right click on it and select Properties from the menu. Photo Editor automatically adjusts the image for 300 pixel per inch (ppi) output resolution, but anywhere between 200 and 300 ppi is fine. Over 300 is usually seen as excessive because most consumer grade printers aren't able to resolve beyond that level of detail. As you change the resolution you'll notice the dimensions changing over to the right. Adjust until you get the dimensions you would like. Using a 3 MP camera you won't be able to size as far down as a 4X6 (assuming you've done no cropping of the image) using that control (assuming you are not choosing to go beyond 300 ppi). If that's the case, you'll have to go to Image>Resize and change the dimensions there (just cancel out of the resolution window to leave it at 300). Be sure "Allow Distortion" is not selected and change either width or height to the desired number. The image will then be resized to a 4x6 at 300ppi output resolution.