Stupid mistakes you've made

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bryon_M, Nov 12, 2002.

1. Bryon_M

Bryon_M Extra

I'm a noob and I know I learn from mine and others past goof ups. So I'm going to share one I did tonight and hopefully more will follow.
    So I get my new speakers in today, jbl nsp1's and a sony wm40 sub. I was in a hurry just to hear them so I set them up in a none optimal fashion. The sub was right next to the tv and the speakers are precariously sitting on their stands. I ran out of room under the tv with my new receiver so I had to set my dvd player on top of the sub.
    Everything's going great, I tested the system and it was sounding really good. We get to a really loud part of the movie we were watching, the bass just starts booming and I get a big smile on my face. All the sudden the movie kind of stutters and the sound shuts off for a sec. Strange first thought was I overloaded the receiver but that didn't make sense. We continued watching the moving and it got to a part were the bass was pounding rhythmically and dvd is stuttering the whole time. Finally I figured it out, since the dvd player was sitting on top of the sub every time the bass hit it was stuttering the dvd. Ok off to the store to buy an a/v cabinet tomorrow and I'll make sure the sub is no where near the dvd player [​IMG]

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Take a look in the DIY section and search for "Flexy". You will find lots of people who went to the local hardware store and bought pre-finished shelving and long threaded rods and built their own racks.

I also suggest that when you lay out your rack you do the following:

- Put the receiver on the bottom. This allows the speaker wires to flow out without obscuring the other equipment.

- Above the receiver put the devices you never touch. This could be the CATV box, the DSS receiver, etc.

- On the top shelves put the devices you interact with like the DVD player, VCR, Game systems.