What's new

Stupid for buying on EBAY? (1 Viewer)

Brian Johnson

Supporting Actor
Since I am new at collecting, am I stupid for buying on ebay? I have won a few in the last few weeks and have so far had no problems & have gotten some good deals. I always see what I can get them for new if they are available and bid accordingly ,I have been looking mostly for OOP titles on ebay.
For example: I just won an auction for six(yes six!!)DVDs for 67.42 + 4.50 shipping. The list inclueds Alien SE,The Matrix,The 5th Element(non-superbit),Star Wars EP1,Robocop(criterion),and Star Trek 2. (the only one I had was the matrix, so I can always resell) I went to dvdpricesearch, typed in all the movies and going by deepdiscountdvd rates(about the only one I have actually bought from) these movies add up to $127.19
I guess I can post a link to the auction since its over.
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...ndexURL=0&rd=1
Have many people been burnt using ebay? I figure both parties are in a legal contract we when buy/sell.
I guess I should of searched before posting but its too late now :D

paul o'donnell

Second Unit
Just check the buyer's feedback for blemishes and if you're happy with the deal you're getting, there's no way you can be stupid.

Jacob_St

Second Unit
Someone sold me a defective VHS about a month back. When I sent it back the guy "claimed" it worked and didn't refund me. If your item is 25 dollars or higher you can file a fraud claim but anything less than that you aren't left with many options. I tried the safe harbor thing at square trade but that didn't get me anywhere. Since I only paid 8.99 for the tape I didn't pay the 20 bucks for a mediator. I'm still pissed for being ripped off but there's nothing more I can do about it. I just posted negative feedback on the guys account and then blocked his email address because he kept sending rude emails calling me a liar.

Malcolm R

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm