What's new

Stupid DTS newbie question (1 Viewer)

Rod Melotte

Stunt Coordinator
I have not been using the DTS function because basically it didn't work. I was still getting used to everything else in Surround Sound. One thing at a time.

Tonight I was actually reading instructions and saw that my Sony NS700P was not set up correctly so I pressed all the correct buttons and still nothing.

Then upon further reading I spotted something that brings up a question.

I need a one plug (1 each side) coaxial digital cord that runs from the Player (Digital out) to the Digital Input jack on the reciever. This I do not have.

Questions

1. is this a SPECIAL coax cord that I will have to buy?

2. What does this cord do anyway?????

3. Is this the missing link to my DTS problems?

Steve Brown

Auditioning
I'm still learning at this, but I think I can answer your questions.

1. Kind of, but not really. It needs to be a 75ohm cable. If I remember correctly a normal RCA video cable will work just fine for this. OR you can go with an optical cable if your DVD and receiver are equipped with optical outs. I prefer optical, simply because it sounds the same is coax and it isn't subject to RF interference. You can pick up an optical cable at Radio Shack for about $20-$30.

2. The cord passes the digital sound track from your DVD player to your receiver. Once in the reciever, the signal is decoded into the 5.1 channels that is DTS (barring any sort of pre-amp setup).

3. Yes. This is the reason you don't have digital sound right now. When you use RCA cables to pass sound via L and R channels, you only get stereo sound. Any sort of surround sound you get with this set is "fake" meaning it is generated by the processor on your reciever and is not true digital sound.

Rod Melotte

Stunt Coordinator
Ahh - that was my confusian, I had L/R going from the player to the reciever so I just felt I was getting what I needed.