What's new

Student needs help. Educational DVD commentaries? (1 Viewer)

JonCW

Auditioning
Hey all.

I'm a film student at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Currently I'm working on an honors thesis paper on a subject I love: DVD Audio Commentaries.

The main purpose is to determine the educational value of these commentaries to film students such as myself.

I know from experience that some titles work well and some fall very short. Unfortunately, my personal experience is limited compared with the vast comprehensive knowledge of this fantastic forum.

In addition to countless time spent listening to tracks, I will also be sending surveys to film schools around the country to teachers and students determining interest and it's current place in universities.

Here's what I'm asking from you. I'd like anyone interested in helping me out to list the DVD audio comentaries that they personally feel to be of educational value to a film production student. The person talking on the track can be anyone, just as long as it's insightful. Genres would be a big help (fiction and all it's various sub genres, documentary and animation -- I'd love to touch on them all).

I must ask for only audio commentaries and not other special features. Although featurettes, etc. can be helpful in the same manner, it's too much to take on in one semester.

From your suggestions, I will compile a master list and continue my research.

As thanks for your time and help to a fellow film buff, your name will be included in the proper appendix.

When it's all said and done I'll post a link here again to where you can see the paper. It'll be up on my film review site sometime in mid-December, when the semester is over and I have graduated.

Thanks for your help. I look forward to all your suggestions.

Randy A Salas

Screenwriter